Bachelor of Science


B.Sc. Degree programme is designed to contribute towards raising the general educational standards of the public by providing an opportunity for higher education in Science. This programme facilitates those already employed in the field, and late developers to acquire a B.Sc. degree in their own time at an affordable cost. It specifically aims to:

(a) provide an opportunity for persons to obtain a Science Degree and thereby improve their promotional/career prospects

(b) enable, particularly those already employed in the field, late developers, and those who could not avail themselves of higher education at the end of their secondary school career to obtain a degree

(c) enable any person to pursue a degree course in Science in their own time at an affordable cost

(d) combine courses within and outside the Faculty to suit a student’s interest or job requirements.

The mode of delivery of the programme is based on Open and Distance Learning (ODL) methods. It is different to the conventional study system most students are familiar with. Student learning is facilitated through carefully prepared printed course material suitable for self learning. Printed course materials are supplemented with audio, visual and online learning material.

Faculty of Natural Sciences offers courses at different Levels. Degree level courses are at Level 3, 4, 5 & 6. The Level 3-5 is comparable with the General Degree programme of the conventional university system, while Level 3- 6 represents a special Degree programme. The medium of instruction is English. However, Level 3 courses can be offered in Sinhala, English or the Tamil Medium. The Faculty of Natural Sciences has five departments of study: Botany, Chemistry, Mathematics & Computer Science, Physics, Zoology, which offer range of discipline-based courses.

The B.Sc. programme offers courses at Levels 3, 4 and 5/6, equivalent to the 1st, 2nd, and 3rd years of the B.Sc. Degree programme of a conventional university. Depending on the qualifications, a student can choose three disciplines from Botany, Chemistry, Pure Maths, Applied Maths, Computer Science, Physics or Zoology for the B.Sc. Degree.


Programme Code :


Programme Category :

Undergraduate Programme

Conducted by :

Faculty of Natural Sciences

Programme duration :

Minimum three years

Discipline(s) / Course(s) :

Botany, Chemistry, Mathematics & Computer Science, Physics and Zoology.


Three G.C.E. (A/L) passes in approved science subjects (in any number of sittings) OR OUSL Foundation Certificate in Science


Issuing of Applications :

06th January 2019

Closing Date for Applications :

28th February 2019

Programme commencing date :

23rd May 2019


Application fee LKR 350

The programme fee cover the following components: Registration Fee , Sports Club Fee , Facilities Fee, Refundable Lab Deposit, Library Facilities Fee and Tuition Fees. Visit for more details.

Further Details

Address :

Assistant Registrar, Faculty of Natural Sciences The Open University of Sri Lanka Nawala, Nugegoda

Contact :

011 288 1284

Email :

[email protected]